Skip to main content

Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award

Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award

The purpose of the Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award is to recognize College of Business faculty members for excellence in classroom instruction.

Dr. Dyer is EKU Emeritus Professor of Accounting and taught auditing for many years.  For a time, he chaired, what was then, the Accounting Department and was also, for several years, Director of the EKU MBA program. He is a nationally known and respected educator, academician and accountant. Dr. Dyer has worked closely with the Association of Government Accountants for a number of years and edited numerous journal articles.

His wife, Jerrilyn, has been most supportive not only of his career but also the business program – now EKU’s College of Business. It was through Mrs. Dyer and the family that this award was established.  When Dr. Dyer retired in 2001, the family came together with the intention of doing something very special to honor teaching. They worked with the EKU Foundation to establish the Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award for business faculty.

The Award

The recipient receives a $1,000 cash award, an individual plaque, and his or her name inscribed on a plaque to be permanently displayed by the Dean’s Office. They are recognized in official University publications such as the EKUpdate, the College’s alumni newsletter, and other appropriate venues.

The Selection Process

A three-member Awards Committee - one elected faculty representative and a two alternates from the College of Business programs and the Associate Dean, as the Chair. The faculty members will serve one-year terms.

The Selection Criteria

The recipient of the award will be business faculty who is considered by their peers, students, and administrators to demonstrate excellent classroom instruction. Neither performance in scholarship nor service is to be taken into account in selecting the award recipient, except that no one will be eligible for the award unless he/she has been eligible for merit pay for scholarship and service during the award year and the immediate prior year. The evidence of excellent classroom instruction may include but is not limited to the following factors:

  • Peer review of instruction
  • Student evaluations of teaching performance (last three years)
  • Curriculum development e.g., new course development)
  • Teaching load e.g., number of preparations, class size, day/evening classes, etc.)
  • Innovative teaching methods.


To be eligible for the award, the teacher must be a tenured or tenure-track member of the College of Business Faculty. Faculty members who have received the award within four years prior to the award year are not eligible for consideration.


The Assistant Dean and Chair of Faculty will submit the names of two or more faculty members to the Chair of the Awards Committee by February 28. The nomination packets for each nominee must include:

  • The Assistant Dean and Chair of Faculty evaluation of each nominee based on the selection criteria
  • The nominee’s teaching philosophy (one-page maximum)
  • The nominee’s self-evaluation of how he/she meets the selection criteria (one-page summary).

The Awards Committee will select the recipient by April 1 and notify the Dean accordingly. The family of Dr. Dyer will be advised of all recipients of the award and of official University publications and events identifying the recipients.

These procedures will be periodically reviewed and amended as the Dean and department chairs deem necessary.

Prior Award Recipients

2020-21:  Dr. Cynthia Harter, Associate Professor, Economics

2019-20: Ms. Kim Kincer, Director PGM Program

2018-19: Dr. Laura Barthel, Assistant Professor (Accounting)

2017-18: Dr. Beth Polin, Assistant Professor (Management)

2016-17: Dr. Marcel Robles, Professor (Corporate Communication and Technology)

2015-16: Dr. Siwei Gao, Assistant Professor (Risk Management and Insurance)

2014-15: Dr. Qian Xiao, Assistant Professor (Management)

2013-14: Dr. Mike Roberson, Professor (Management)

2012-13: Dr. Mary Beth Holbrook, Assistant Professor (Accounting)

2011-12: Dr. Kambiz Tabibzadeh, Associate Professor (Management)

2010-11: Dr. Faridah Awang, Associate Professor (Corporate Communication and Technology)

2009-10: Dr. Peggy Brewer, Professor (Management)

2008-09: Dr. Jan Colbert, Professor (Accounting)

2007-08: Dr. Allen Engle, Sr., Professor (Management)

2006-07: Dr. Chang-Yang Lin, Professor (CIS) and Dr. Teresa McGlone, Professor (Marketing)

2005-06: Dr. Dan Thorne, Associate Professor (Accounting) and Dr. Lana Carnes, Professor (Corporate Communication and Technology)

2004-05: Dr. Rick Fern, Professor (Accounting) and Dr. Judy Spain, Professor (Management)

2003-04: Dr. Ed Fenton, Professor (Accounting) and Dr. S.J. Garner, Professor (Marketing)

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/