Skip to main content

Holbrook Named Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award Recipient

Dr. Jack Dyer and Dr. Mary Beth Holbrook

EKU's School of Business is pleased to announce the recipient of the Tenth Annual Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award. The recipient for 2012-13 is Dr. Mary Beth Holbrook, Assistant Professor of Accounting.

Nominees were selected and reviewed by a three-member Selection Committee based on evidence of excellent classroom instruction.  They also considered factors such as peer review of instruction, student evaluations of teaching performance, curriculum development, teaching load, and innovative teaching methods.

"Mary Beth is very deserving of this award," said School of Business Associate Dean Dr. Rita Davis (recently retired). "Her students and colleagues respect her teaching. One of her students made the following comment, 'She is a great professor. She clearly understands the material, cares about how students learn, and cares about how thoroughly  she presents the material. She always tries to improve her teaching methods for our benefit. She is one of the best professors I have ever had. I wish I could take her again.'" 

Student comments on Dr. Holbrook included: “By far the best instructor I have had at EKU,” “Great Professor,” “Wonderful teacher.” Davis continued, "What really helped to make our decision was her philosophy that she never gives up on a student."

The School of Business formally recognized Dr. Holbrook during the annual Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award Luncheon on August 15.

I am honored and humbled to be receiving this award. Teaching provides a wonderful opportunity to positively influence another’s life. We affect students’ lives sometimes without even knowing it. And our students depend on all of us to help them, keep them on track, inspire them, and guide them. We all make a difference in the lives of our students at Eastern. How lucky we are to have this opportunity. -  Dr. Mary Beth Holbrook

 We are proud to have quality professors such as Dr. Holbrook and pleased to recognize her for her efforts.

Congratulations to Dr. Mary Beth Holbrook for being selected as the recipient of the Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award for 2012-13!

Photo Gallery...

More on the Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award...

Published on August 15, 2013

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/