Skip to main content

Recipients of the Jack Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award Announced

EKU's College of Business is pleased to announce recipients of the Annual Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award. The recipient for 2019-2020 is Ms. Kim Kincer, Director of the PGA Golf Management Program.  The recipient of the 2020-21 is Dr. Cynthia Harter, Associate Professor of Economics and Director of the Center for Economic Education. 

Nominations for the award were made by the EKU's College of Business faculty. Nominees were reviewed by a three-member Selection Committee based on evidence of excellent classroom instruction. They also considered factors such as peer review of instruction, student evaluations of teaching performance, curriculum development, teaching load, and innovative teaching methods.

Both recipients will be honored on Thursday, August 12 at the Jack Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award Luncheon hosted by the College of Business.

Kim Kincer

"To say that I am honored to receive the Jack L. Dyer Excellence in Teaching Award is an understatement. I had known Dr. Dyer for 15+ years and have long admired his enthusiasm for teaching. Along with being an excellent professor, he was known for his high standards and integrity. He challenged students, helping them along the way to achieve lofty goals. Dr. Dyer set the standard I strive to emulate in the classroom. It is a great privilege to receive this award named for a man I greatly admired." - Ms. Kim Kincer (2020 Jack Dyer Award Recipient)

Cynthia Harter

"I am grateful and humbled to receive the Jack L. Dyer Excellent in Teaching Award.  Although I did not know Dr. Dyer personally, the enthusiasm and admiration my colleagues have for him deomonstrates the impact he made.  We have all been motivated by his frequent saying, "We change lives for the the better," and I am honored to be a part of the legacy of passion for students and for teaching that he has left through his many years at EKU and that continues on with this award."  - Dr. Cynthia Harter (2021 Jack Dyer Award Recipient)

Published on July 14, 2021

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/