Skip to main content

Top Tier Students Inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma Honors Society

BGS inductees standing in a row with certificates

EKU's School of Business and the College of Business and Technology are pleased to announce the induction of business students into the Beta Gamma Sigma honor society. The new members were honored at a formal induction ceremony on Tuesday, April 23, 2019, in the Executive Conference Room of the Business and Technology Center on the EKU campus.

Business seniors, representing the top 10 percent of their graduating class, juniors representing the top 7 percent of their class, and master's students representing the top 20 percent of their graduating class were invited into membership in formal tapping ceremonies.

The School of Business was also very pleased to honor one of the very best professors with the Beta Gamma Sigma professor of the year award. Kristen Brewer is a Assistant Professor in the Department of Management, Marketing, and International Business, and was selected by students who were inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma during the previous two semesters. The professor of the year must be a BGS member and currently teach full time in the School of Business.

Spring 2019 Beta Gamma Sigma Inductees

  • Kyle Best
  • Mikayla Courtney
  • William Davis
  • Elizabeth Elleman
  • Kelsie Head
  • Steven Kelley
  • Caitlyn Kirchoff
  • Meaghan Marbry
  • Cierra Monroe
  • Emily Savard 
  • Lauren Schafer 
  • Madison West
  • Patrick Worland

School of Business Beta Gamma Sigma Officers

PRESIDENT - Dr. Thomas Erekson, Dean - College of Business and Technology

Active Beta Gamma Sigma Faculty Members

  • Dr. Lee Allison
  • Dr. Faridah Awang
  • Dr. Laura Barthel
  • Mr. James Blair 
  • Dr. Philip Boutin
  • Dr. Lana Carnes
  • Dr. Oliver Feltus
  • Ms. Sarah Feltus
  • Dr. Michael Fore
  • Dr. Lisa Gardner
  • Dr. Trish Isaacs
  • Ms. Kim Kincer
  • Dr. Beth Polin
  • Dr. Mike Roberson
  • Dr. Marcel Robles
  • Dr. Judy Spain
  • Dr. Justin Stearns
  • Dr. Qian Xiao
  • Dr. Zhe Zhang
  • Dr. Weiling Zhuang

Beta Gamma Sigma logo

Founded as a national organization in 1913, the first national honor society in business was a merger of three separate societies established to honor academic achievement in business at the University of Wisconsin, University of Illinois and the University of California.

Today, Beta Gamma Sigma is an international honor society that provides the highest recognition a business student anywhere in the world can receive in an undergraduate or master's program at a school accredited by AACSB International. With the global expansion of accreditation by AACSB International, membership is no longer limited to those who have studied in the U.S. or Canada.

The mission and objectives of Beta Gamma Sigma are to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business and personal and professional excellence in the practice of business; to foster an enduring commitment to the founding principles and values of honor and integrity; to encourage the pursuit of wisdom and earnestness; to support the advancement of business through and to encourage lifelong learning; and to enhance the value of Beta Gamma Sigma for student and alumni members in their professional lives.

Currently more than 500,000 individuals have accepted membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. They occupy key management and leadership positions in a variety of industries around the world. For more information on the honor society of Beta Gamma Sigma, visit

View the photo album on Facebook.

Published on April 25, 2019

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/